HPDGrid 2006

International Workshop on High-Performance Data Management in Grid Environments

UFRJ/IMPA, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 13 July 2006

Co-located with VECPAR 2006, 7th International Meeting on High Performance Computing for Computational Science, 10-12 July 2006.


Initially developed for the scientific community as a generalization of cluster computing using the Web, Grid computing is now gaining much interest in other important areas such as enterprise information systems. This makes data management more critical than ever. Compared with cluster computing which deals with homogeneous parallel systems, Grids are characterized with high heterogeneity, high autonomy and large-scale distribution of computing and data resources. Managing and transparently accessing large numbers of autonomous, heterogeneous data resources efficiently is an open problem. Furthermore, different Grids may have different requirements with respect to autonomy, query expressiveness, efficiency, quality of service, fault-tolerance, security, etc. Thus, different solutions need be investigated, ranging from extensions of distributed and parallel computing techniques to more decentralized, self-adaptive techniques such as Peer-to-peer (P2P).

The objective of this one-day workshop is to bring together researchers and practitioners from the high-performance computing, distributed systems and database communities to discuss the challenges and propose novel solutions in the design and implementation of high-performance data management in Grid environments.


Paper submission

Authors are invited to submit either a full paper (maximum 12 pages) or an extended abstract (maximum 6 pages). The manuscripts must be formatted according to the Rules of the Springer Series Lecture Notes in Computer Science. They must include the title of the paper, the name, affiliation, and e-mail address of all authors, and a short abstract (100 words). Submissions should be in PDF format. Submitted papers will be reviewed based on originality, relevance, technical soundness and clarity of presentation.

Accepted papers will be included in the Vecpar e-proceedings in a separate workshop session and available at the workshop. After the workshop, extended versions of selected papers will be invited to be submitted for publication in the Vecpar post-proceedings in a Springer volume of Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Furthermore, extended versions of the best papers will be invited to be submitted for a special issue of the Journal of Grid Computing (Springer).

Papers submitted to the workshop must not have been simultaneously submitted to any other forum (conference or journal), nor should they have already been published elsewhere. At least one author is required to register for the workshop and present the work. Registration will be done at Vecpar site.

Papers must be submitted electronically, by Feburary 7th, 2006, through the HPDGrid 2006 submissions Web page.

Important Dates

Submission (firm) deadline: February 7th, 2006
Notification to authors: April 1st, 2006
Final paper due: April 28th, 2006
Workshop: July 13th, 2006

Workshop co-chairs

Marta Mattoso (COPPE/UFRJ, Brazil)
Patrick Valduriez (INRIA and LINA, France)

Program Chair

Esther Pacitti (INRIA and LINA, France)

Program Committee

Henrique Andrade, IBM Research, USA
Claudio L. Amorim, UFRJ, Brazil
Gabriel Antoniu, INRIA et IRISA, France
Stefano Ceri, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Christine Collet, Institut Polytechnique Grenoble, France
Ricardo Jimenez-Peris, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
Sergio Lifschitz, PUC Rio, Brazil
Alexandre A. B. Lima, UFRJ, Brazil
Ioana Manolescu, INRIA Futurs, France
Hubert Naacke, University Paris 6, France
Rui Oliveira, University of Minho, Portugal
Vincent Oria, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
M. Tamer ÷zsu, University of Waterloo, Canada
Cesare Pautasso, ETH, Switzerland
Alexandre Plastino, UFF, Brazil
Fabio Porto, EPFL, Switzerland
Guillaume Raschia, INRIA and LINA, France
Marc Shapiro, INRIA and†LIP6, France
Mohamed Zait, Oracle Corp., USA

Organization Committee

Vanessa Braganholo (COPPE/UFRJ, Brazil) - Chair
Fernanda Bai„o (Unirio, Brazil)
Alexandre A. B. Lima (COPPE, Brazil)
Luiz A V C Meyer (COPPE, Brazil
Gabriela Ruberg (COPPE, Brazil)